Zodiac Signs

All about the Zodiac Signs and their personal traits

Zodiac Signs

Ashley Turek, Journalist

          Zodiac signs, also known as horoscope signs, are based on the position of the planets and the stars that can sometimes tell us about ourselves. These twelve signs are determined by which constellation the sun is passing through on the day of your birth.

           These various signs are Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces.

          Here are the birth dates of each sign:

          Aries: March 21- April 19

          Taurus: April 20- May 20

          Gemini: May 21- June 20

          Cancer: June 21- July 22

          Leo: July 23- August 22

          Virgo: August 23- September 22

          Libra: September 23- October 22

          Scorpio: October 23- November 21

          Sagittarius: November 22-December 21

          Capricorn: December 21- January 20

          Aquarius: January 21- February 18

          Pisces: February 19-March 20

          There are four different categories of signs. They include earth signs, water signs, fire signs, and air signs. The earth signs are Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn. The water signs are Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces. The fire signs are Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius. Finally, the air signs are Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius. 

          About 30% of people believe/follow their zodiac signs, and what they say about them or their future. It’s completely optional and is not needed in life if you choose not to read about them. Some people think they are interesting or entertaining.

          Here is a little about each sign:


          Aries are like the ram, bold and determined. They are known to be passionate, motivated, and confident as a leader and in other roles they play. They go straight into difficult situations like a ram with its head. Although they make a cheerful community around them they often get frustrated easily with unnecessary things.


          Taurus are represented by the bull, enjoy relaxing in calm serenes with soothing surroundings, and are ambitious to succeed. They’re noted to love the thought of a mellow time with non-stressing sounds, smells, and sights. Taurus are trustworthy and have good relationships with people until they catch themselves in bad situations, just trying to prove a point.


          Geminis are represented by the deer, with lots of energy, they are fun people, intelligent, and not scared to put themselves out there. A common thing for them to do is take on way more things than they can handle at once and constantly switch interests of activities. Geminis are social butterflies who will talk to almost anyone about anything.


          Cancers are represented by the crab, self-protective of themselves, and can pick up emotions from their environment, extremely similar to the crab itself. In addition to this sea sand creature, they seem shielded by a hard shell, however, once you get to know them their gentle, compassionate, plus comfortable nature comes to life. Due to this, they are popular for being attached to their homes.


          Leos are represented by the lion; natural leaders and very determined.  They are prominent for their powerful royal ranking. Leos are not scared to go all out and embrace their courageous perspective. Leos may start to feel frightened that their success will be crushed by others, but besides that, they are known for being dedicated friends. 


          Virgos are represented by the goddess of wheat and agriculture, owning a logical and practical method of life. They are persistent with improving their skills and are thorough with most things they do. They’re kind and supportive friends who are problem solvers. As a result, they usually make incredible teachers, editors, and musicians.


          Libras are represented by scaled animals. They love being surrounded by superb tastes, making them great designers, decorators, and stylists. Libras prefer balance and equality in life which reflects when they try to always keep everyone happy. It can be good that they make an effort to make everyone joyful and involved, but sometimes they may get carried away and not give attention to the people that are special to them.


          Scorpios are represented by scorpions, powerful, and are not frightened to work hard for an extended period of time for what they want as a result. They are trustworthy friends, passionate, and strong with emotional areas of life. Yet they may get controlled by their peers causing good days and bad days for them.


          Sagittarius are represented by an archer, adaptable with life and curious, making them knowledgeable. They are known to be daring and always searching for answers, just trying to change the world while bouncing through lots of thoughts and ideas. This makes them great storytellers, entertainers, and creatives. Although they can get too honest towards people which can possibly cause some problems.


          Capricorns are represented by the mythical sea goat, good at navigating emotions and realness. They are well known to seem held back at first, but then outgoing. Capricorns are quality leaders especially when working, but they have to be careful they don’t focus on work too much so that they can spend time with people doing other projects.


          Aquarius are represented by the water bearer, big thinkers, and very social. They are free-spirited and usually don’t prefer many rules. Aquarius for the most part loves being with their communities doing activities, but other times need their time alone. These water bearers are extremely independent allowing them to be able to create nice ideas to make life better.


          Pisces are represented by two fish swimming in opposite directions. They have a difficult time analyzing fantasy from reality; however, individuals are known to be sensitive, compassionate, and show the ability to understand and share feelings with other people around them. Pisces have great imaginations with huge dreams while exploring their endless creativity. They can be flaky, meaning they might not be quite in rhythm with society, and this can’t be solved by them just walking away from it.

          Hopefully, now you know a little more about each of the zodiac signs and their personalities.