Who is Why Don’t We



Gali Aseo, Journalist

        Why Don’t We is an American boy band with members Zach Herron, Jack Avery, Daniel Seavey, Corbyn Besson, and Jonah Marais. They officially formed as a band on September 27, 2016.  All the members started off with solo careers. Jack released a solo single called “Liar” in 2016 and was part of the meet-and-greet tour “Impact”, which Zach Herron and Corbyn Besson was also a part of. Corbyn released a solo single called “The Only One” to iTunes in 2014. He also had a small following on the app, YouNow. Zach sang covers on youtube. His specific cover of stitches by Shawn Mendes, went viral.  Jonah released his album When the Daylight’s Gone, in 2016. Daniel can play over 20 instruments and competed on season 14 of American Idol at the age of 15. 


        In 2018, they released 8 Letters which was their first album together.  They’ve also released five EP albums which are sort of mini albums. In 2018, they won Choice Music Group at the teen choice awards. Later on in 2019, they won three awards at the TH40 mid year awards. Favorite Music Video, Best Fandom, and Favorite International Group.


        Why Don’t We become friends with Logan Paul after he directed three of the band’s music videos. Logan has also featured Why Don’t We in a number of his vlogs and had them co-artist in his own music. 


        On January 25, 2020, the band posted a video of them walking out of a building. They captioned this video “were taking the beginning of 2020 off to write and produce our next studio album. We’re so excited and we’ll see you soon. Text us if you need us.” They then put a phone number which automatically texts back a link to a fan database where fans can all chat. Then on September 15 they posted a video of them walking out of a recording studio. They simply captioned this, “we’re back.” Then on September 28 they announced that they would be going live on youtube to debut their new single “Fallin’”. Recently on November 11 they posted the cover of their new coming out album called “The Good Times and the Bad Ones” this album is coming out January 15. 

Why Don’t We playlist down below!